Welcome to the Algoma Elementary Teachers’ Federation

AETFO is a Northern Local representing over 400 members across 6 geographic areas: Sault Ste. Marie, Central Algoma, North Shore, Michipicoten, Chapleau and Hornepayne. The Local Executive includes the President, Vice-President, Treasurer and 8 Unit Representatives from across the district, with 6 active committees and 37 workplace Stewards, a wide range of support and services are available. AETFO is a professional organization that is committed to ensuring health and safety & workplace protection for members, upholding local collective agreement rights, providing professional development, promoting social justice and equity and goodwill locally and internationally. Algoma ETFO protects the rights of members and also advocates for all workers as an affiliate of the Sault Ste. Marie & District Labour Council.

ETFO is the largest teacher union in Canada with 83,000 members in Ontario. Our local programs and services are designed to align with the provincial organization’s priorities which include:

  • To protect the collective bargaining rights of all members.
  • To defend publicly-funded public education.
  • To serve the needs of the membership.
  • To provide for the professional development of members.
  • To promote social justice in the areas of peace, anti-poverty, non-violence, and equity.
  • To support international assistance and co-operation.
  • To promote the care and protection of the environment.
  • To actively engage members in the Federation.
  • To promote and protect the health and safety of members

Algoma Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario

Phone:  705-942-3379
Fax:  705-942-1054

President’s Emailalgomapresmitchell@shaw.ca
Vice-President’s Emailalgomaetfovp@shaw.ca

Kitty Zorzi Closeup Reduced

AETFO Office Manager — Kitty Zorzi

There is ample Public Parking across March Street from the Soo Centre.  Be mindful of the Handicapped Parking areas — AND of the 2 hour time limit.

Note the ONE WAY streets indicated on the map.

Click the “Full Screen” icon, top right of Google Maps to maximize.  The connection to Google Maps is sometimes a bit slow.

123 March Street
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
P6A 2Z5, Canada

     Fourth Floor, Soo Centre